Parents Are Crazy

I absolutely love this video (and I’ve been sitting on it for a few weeks just incase that opinion changed). Yes, I know it’s a commercial. Yes, I know it’s for a soft drink. Yes, I know it’s supposed to play on my emotions as a father. Yes, I am strangely intrigued by the green label and “Coca Cola Life” bit. Setting all of that aside, though…

I love being a dad. My kids are messy, noisy, and absolutely needy in almost every way. And they’re the most awesome people I know. My wife and I could have easily told you this when we only had one child, but we were still thrilled to know that our second was on the way. My son is going to be five in eight days. My daughter will be two in twenty days. I wouldn’t trade either of them for the world.

Having kids makes you crazy. All of the fun stuff you enjoyed before is still nice, but all of the things you valued before become diminished in comparison to the crazy joy that ragouts introduce.

This video gets that. I mean, yeah, I was pretty cool before I had kids. My clothes were generally stain free, I had collections of cool things, and my house was clean and well furnished. But I wouldn’t take any of that back if it meant giving up even a part of my messy, noisy, needy blessings. Nothing beats coming home, stepping on a lego, being tackled at the knees, and having brutal tickle fights with my kiddos!

IMG_3337

Leave a Reply

